Current time: 01-18-2018, 07:45 AM

Post Reply 
Build a PC
» and other games too XD
Message Author
Post: #31

Spoiler:
Planning to buy a video card tomorrow, I need help for current gen gaming.

Anyway, I'm thinking of getting a gtx680, but I'm not certain whether the money's worth it or not. gtx690 seems overkill already to me. Then there's a new (760, or was it 770) vid card coming out the future, so I might be able to get it much cheaper. But then there's no fucking release date. I don't want to wait anymore. Anyway, budget is around 20-30k. I'd be willing to dish out a little if I have to, but only if I really need to, which I don't think so atm.

Shit, my stuff is like, 2-4 years ago. I might have to upgrade my processor as well, which is a 1075T x6 Phenom II hexa. Any ideas guys? Think it'll bottleneck even while OC'd or something? No helpful google results so far. ;__;


WHERE ARE THE PROS WHEN U NEED THEM HURRR



Edit 2: Actually, just fuck it. I'm going now. I'll go ask the staff if they know a thing or two as well. I'll have to buy a new processor if plan A fucks up.
Edit 3: Went there, no stock of gtx680. I'll have to wait until Monday. I need your halp again, pplz.
Edit 4: HD7970 seems like a good alternative, if not, even better. Or a 7970 Ghz edition, but it'd be too much me, I suppose.


Edit 5: I suppose it's 'problem solved'. Jin and Jiro replied at FB. Thanks btw!
(This post was last modified: 06-23-2012 06:04 PM by Goat.)

Goat

Spectator

Group: Bot Hunter
Posts: 5,308
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: idk

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
06-22-2012 10:05 PM
Post: #32

Does anyone here have experience doing a clean install of W1nd0w5 7?
Since the damage on my laptop may not be covered by the warranty, I'm thinking of just doing a clean install on a new hard drive with either the OEM version(quite cheap but I'm not aware of it's limitations), retail version(costs $200 or something), or just go for the "free" version. There's also ubuntu but I'm not sure how many of the programs and games I use will run on it. I'll try creating a bootable usb later.

btw fuck these prebuilt computers that don't come with installation discs anymore.
(This post was last modified: 01-25-2013 03:37 PM by J.E_Magog.)

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2013 03:36 PM
Post: #33

"free" ver. Then go for ultimate. Also, did your laptop run on 64-bit or 32-bit?


Fuunyaah~

Hell Heart



Group: Raven
Posts: 1,017
Joined: Mar 2012
Status: Offline

PSN: EtherStrife

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2013 05:19 PM
Post: #34

it's 64-bit....

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2013 05:22 PM
Post: #35

If ever you run into problems related with not having device drivers, try looking for the device ID. A simple Google search would get you the device name, and where you can download its device driver.

Shintetsu

Pops

Group: Raven
Posts: 3,392
Joined: Oct 2007
Status: Offline


Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
01-25-2013 10:32 PM
Post: #36

Can the old ram on my existing PC be reused on a new motherboard?
Trying to figure out what parts can be reused for a new build. Parang malabo na talagang magamit yung old hdd(with os) at ram.
All that's is left is the dvd drive, graphics card and the psu(last two were upgraded parts, never came with the original pc). The dvd drive isn't blu ray compatible so I might end up changing it as well. Wala nang natira Chair

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2013 08:24 AM
Post: #37

Depends on what your new motherboard will be. May mga compatibility crap yan with the RAM. What's wrong with the old HDD?

NiX

Threadkeeper
PACT Champion

Group: PACT Champion
Posts: 9,007
Joined: Sep 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: RR_NiX

Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2013 10:20 AM
Post: #38

Problema ko lang sa old hdd kung magagamit ko pa yung operating system na installed dun. Kapag magkaiba daw yung chipset magkaka problema daw. H57 chips yung luma pero Z77 yung balak kong bilhin.
(This post was last modified: 03-23-2013 11:24 AM by J.E_Magog.)

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2013 11:23 AM
Post: #39

Most new MOBO goes fine with DDR3 ram.. Kung DDR2 yung previous RAM mo.. Hindi sila compatible ng DDR3.

As for the OS. Wala naman issue's.. Though you might want to remove some old drivers afterwards.


Fuunyaah~

Hell Heart



Group: Raven
Posts: 1,017
Joined: Mar 2012
Status: Offline

PSN: EtherStrife

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-23-2013 04:36 PM
Post: #40

DDR3 naman yung ram. I guess it's worth a try and in case anything goes wrong I still have my laptop to work with.

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2013 12:29 PM
Post: #41

Alamin mo muna kung anong klaseng RAM meron ka, tapos check mo specs ng motherboard kung compatible sila.

Kung hindi compatible pero mas gusto mo yung mas bagong motherboard, patulan mo na rin kasi mura naman ang mga DDR3 ngayon.
(This post was last modified: 03-24-2013 02:51 PM by Shintetsu.)

Shintetsu

Pops

Group: Raven
Posts: 3,392
Joined: Oct 2007
Status: Offline


Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2013 01:49 PM
Post: #42

Just semi OT.. Ngyayari ba yung incompatible since iba frequency nung RAM? Ang pagkakaintindi ko lang yung sa pagOC lang yung may limitations. Not too sure myself ahaha!


Fuunyaah~

Hell Heart



Group: Raven
Posts: 1,017
Joined: Mar 2012
Status: Offline

PSN: EtherStrife

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
03-24-2013 02:16 PM
Post: #43

I think these parts should be enough to try a build.

Mobo: AsRock Extreme4
CPU: i5-3750K - nevermind i7 to save on a new ram.
RAM: G.Skill Ares 8GB 1600 / Ripjaws-X 8G 2133
Case: Antec One / Corsair Carbide 200R
Cooling: Haven't decided. I want to make sure everything is in place and how much space is available.

Parts to reuse although I'm still considering to upgrade them later on.

HHD: 500GB -> 1TB
Optical Drive: DVD -> Blu Ray
Graphics Card -> GTX-460 -> 650/660 Ti
PSU

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013 02:52 PM
Post: #44

I suggest to change the PSU if its a generic kinda PSU.


Fuunyaah~

Hell Heart



Group: Raven
Posts: 1,017
Joined: Mar 2012
Status: Offline

PSN: EtherStrife

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013 08:39 PM
Post: #45

Ah sa tingin ko ok na yung psu, coolermaster extreme power na 700w. It was a replacement for the mediocre psu that came with the compaq desktop. Not touching prebuilt desktops anymore.

J.E_Magog



Group: Raven
Posts: 3,337
Joined: Aug 2006
Status: Offline

PSN: DoriTandori

Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
04-13-2013 09:34 PM
Post Reply 




 Quick Theme:


The Raven Republic ©
Established August 13, 2006.
Nakataga na sa bato yan!